Inspired by Allie… Be More Bold

This year I decided to challenge myself to do something new: to be more bold. So of course, since I’m a girl, I started in the clothes department. I’m talking bold colors, bold prints and especially bold accessories. Now, for some clarification, you will not see me walking around town with green nails, purple shorts, pink leggings, a shirt decorated in unicorns with a floatie around my waist. That indeed would be bold, but not quite what I’m going for. Rather, I’m thinking fun printed shirts, brightly colored shorts and cute hats or other accessories like earrings, necklaces, etc. It seems to me these days that color is everything. With my new “be bold” splurge, I went to the Stuff Etc in Coralville with my eyes craving things that stood out. Within the first 5 minutes I found a pair of baby blue shorts…they even had the original tags still attached! Since I only paid $5.99 for these sweet shorts, I assured myself I must find a shirt to go with it. In my heart of hearts I knew the nice summer weather was soon to arrive so I went looking for a light tank top. I topped these shorts off with a beaming, bright orange shirt that was $4.99. Now if this shirt isn’t bold, I do not know what is.

Wrapped up in the word ‘bold’ is all sorts of excitement: it means vivid, courageous, daring. So, with my new bold outfit on, I’m going out on an adventure, not sure what is awaiting me. Dr. Seuss says, “If you never did, you should. These things are fun and fun is good!” No one likes boring, do they? Don’t let your outfit be plain; throw some color into it! The real pickle comes when you want a radical outfit, but you know that if you buy it you will not be able to wear it out because you’ve spent all your money on the outfit and have none leftover to go out on the town. This is why Stuff Etc is so perfect for me:  I can get several cute outfits AND be able to wear them out with money left over.

This summer I encourage you to try something new, do things you normally would not and wear things that make your outfit noticeable and exciting. Decorate your life just how you like it. Be edgy, not sketchy. Colorful, not mix matched. And be bold, not boring. Now if you’ll excuse me…I need to go put together some more outfits!

Submitted by guest blogger, Alissa Gilbaugh, incoming Senior at Iowa City West High

Leave a Reply

