Thanksgiving Eve

Thanksgiving Eve …

Not a holiday, or a day people celebrate, or even consider an “Eve”

Basically, it’s the day families load into cars to embark on their journey to “grandma’s house” or when the grocery stores are filled to the brim with all the last-minute food shoppers.

I will be one of the latter.

I need to stop after work and pick up the ingredients for the salad I’m bringing, but I’m also thinking that maybe I should pick up my own pumpkin pie???

I know that sounds excessive, but it is truly the ONLY dish on the menu at Thanksgiving that I can NOT wait for!  AND it’s basically the only time of the year you get to eat it.

Once, I went to a Thanksgiving dinner and believe it or not ….

there was no pumpkin pie!

I know, right?!

Not all gone … like someone ate it all …  just NEVER. EVEN. MADE!

That’s complete disregard for Thanksgiving tradition!  Who even does that?!

 And ever since that fateful Thanksgiving dinner some 10 years ago, each year as I journey to yet another Thanksgiving, I have this inner anxiety that once again, there may be NO pumpkin pie and it’s just not something I think I can bear one more year.

SO…

I say spare someone else the pressure, and myself the anxiety of not knowing if there is pie or no pie, and if there is pie, will I even get a piece of that pie.

That’s it.

I’m buying my own pie.

And before I leave work today, perhaps I should go upstairs and buy myself a perfectly respectful pair of stretch pants for tomorrow!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

~ from ALL of us at Stuff Etc ~

mmmm….. pie

Leave a Reply

