Resolutions?

This is the week when most everyone resolves to make big, new, triumphant changes in their life .  Generally, myself included.

So as I was contemplating yet another list of goals that I will never really fully accomplish, I got to thinking  … who came up with this concept anyway?  Could it be just another “Hallmark Holiday”?

You know… an occasion conjured up to get consumers to spend money on something they normally wouldn’t but then they do only because “everyone else is doing it” so they better get on board ….

So anyway, I googled it.

It’s actually been around forever.  FOREVER!

“The tradition of the New Year’s Resolutions goes all the way back to 153 B.C. Janus, a mythical king of early Rome was placed at the head of the calendar.

With two faces, Janus could look back on past events and forward to the future.  The Romans named the first month of the year after Janus, the god of beginnings. He was always depicted with two faces, one on the front of his head and one on the back. Thus he could look backward and forward at the same time. At midnight on December 31, the Romans imagined Janus looking back at the old year and forward to the new.”

{ courtesy of ArcaMax }

Huh.  Who knew? Definitely not Hallmark.

So in the spirit of Roman times, I guess I better start my list!

During my quest for resolutions I can keep, and a plan on how to do that, I came across many blogs and other postings of “Tips for Keeping Your Resolutions” {see one here}

AND even one that so ambitiously had 52! One for each week of the year!

{see that one here}

Here at Stuff Etc, we have come up with a list of our own resolutions that we believe we can help you with this year.  And after doing all of my research, the one thing I’ve concluded that is necessary to be resolution savvy & successful, is keep it simple, manageable and realistic.

SO …

It will be our goal this week to suggest ways we can help you be successful.

Our list is as follows:

LEARN A New HOBBY
More FAMILY TIME
COOK More MEALS
Get GREENER
Save MONEY
READ More
Get FIT
We look forward to being your partner on the road to 2012 resolution success!
Leave a Reply

