Reading Books is For Noobs

This was the latest statement from my only non-reading child (1 outta 4) …

I guess there’s always gotta be one, huh?

But the rest of us COMPLETELY disagree.

When I am reading a book, I get completely lost … transported.

I may be firmly planted in Iowa, but I can travel the globe, and sometimes even time,  when I read a book.  I am inspired by other’s heroic adventures or stories of those who came before us.  And I am moved by the sheer romance of relationships, journeys, and experiences between the pages, cover to cover.

A book is an excellent escape … a welcomed silence in a world of chaos.

I feel a little empty, a kind of sadness when I finish a great book .. in a way that resembles mourning the loss of a good friend that I may never see again but will always be a part of me.

It warms my heart to see my kids reading.  To hear them giggle to themselves because something they read was funny.  And I love it when they ask if they can read just one more page or one more chapter before they turn out the light.

I guess if this makes me/us ‘noobish’, then so be it.

Besides, I think noobish is sexy…

I encourage you to read at least one good book this summer.

I’m anxious to hear what you’re currently reading or would recommend.

And if you have kids, I encourage you to get your child signed up for the Stuff Etc Summer Reading Kid’s Program.  It’s a discount punch card that earns them a punch each time they purchase books and when they’ve reached ten punches they receive a free gift from Stuff Etc!  Pick one up today at your nearest Stuff Etc location and let the reading begin.  Click here for more details.

Leave a Reply

