Would You Buy It?

Although I’m pretty sure my face melted off as I left my office today, I’m ready for the cardi and the scarf and the jeans … heck, even just a breeze.  

AND I am sick to death of my closet full of nothing to wear! Time to recycle the goods and figure out what, if anything, I can possibly get rid of.  As I shuffled through each and every piece, I began to recognize the repetition of justifications running through my head, minus the removal of anything:

” Meh …haven’t worn that in the past 6 months … maybe even a year? But this is SO my color” 

“Spent way too much on that one … I can’t just give it away”

“I’m starting that amazing new diet tomorrow- it’ll fit again real soon” 

“I used to wear THIS all the time! Who cares if it’s faded – even better”

“Dang! This was a steal! … I haven’t worn it yet but … “

“I look like a sausage in this one … but it still says Juicy Couture”

This clearly wasn’t working.

So I decided to try a completely different approach.

I closed the closet.

Took a deep breath … found my focus { as if it were some Olympic event }.

Opened it up again.

This time, I looked at it as if I were going shopping for the first time, asking myself “Would I buy this right now? Today? With this body? And this budget?”

Sliding hanger by hanger, as if combing through the department store racks, I pulled out each item that I would NOT buy right now.  Wrong color, wrong size, wrong season, wrong style, just. plain. wrong.

BOOM!

Problem solved.

Now I sort into four simple piles:

1. Sister     2. Stuff Etc      3. Donate    4. Burn baby burn

What a joyous feeling!

AND I got the bug ..  lookout kiddos .. momma’s coming to your room next!

Now it’s your turn.

Go on …

get shopping in that closet of yours!

3 responses to “Would You Buy It?

  1. Awesome post! I went through the same thing with my wardrobe (aka double bedroom devoted to my clothing, shoes and bags)… it got a little out of hand. You should pop by and check out my post on my clothing nightmare! http://pepperboxcouture.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/help-i-need-some-order-in-my-wardrobe-oh-wait-i-can-help-myself-0_o/

  2. Pingback: Downsizing is HARD; Get Ruthless | Stuff Happens

  3. Pingback: Downsizing is HARD; Get Ruthless - Stuff Etc.

Leave a Reply

