Acts of Kindness

I heard a story this week while driving in to work that literally had me in tears. 

Aaron Collins, a Kentucky man who died at the young age of 30, left an unusual request in his will.  His last request was for his family to “Leave an awesome tip,” he said. “And I don’t mean 25%, I mean $500 on a pizza.” (Read his story here)

Since his passing on July 7th, his family has not only given several $500 tips but has also raised over $55,000 from donors all over the world through this blog to be randomly distributed among hard-working waiters and waitresses around the country {this is where my tears kicked in}.

There was a brief time in my life when someone paid me an unprecedented amount of kindness. When I offered to repay her, her response was ” Someone helped me once when I needed it most and all they asked in return is that some day I do the same for someone else.  That someone is you.  That someday is now. And all I ask is that you do the same for someone else when you can.”

I have never forgotten that.

And I never will.

Her words ring through my head any time one of those opportunities arise and I proceed without hesitation.

I encourage you to take time this weekend to do something kind for someone else.  It doesn’t have to be a $500 tip for your waitress.  It can be as simple as holding the door for someone or letting a tired mom draped with children jump in front of you in the checkout lane.

Before I go …

I want to give a shout out to the team members of Breast Friends walking in the Susan G Komen 3 Day Walk in Chicago this weekend.  These women (some from the Stuff Etc family) started raising money for breast cancer research and tirelessly training for this year’s walk in Chicago as soon they finished their walk in Arizona last year. They’ve all been touched by breast cancer in one way or another in their lives, yet every year, they have no idea whose lives they touch with their “acts of kindness.”

What a wonderful, selfless, other-centered act!

WE APPLAUD YOU!

God speed girls!

{ photo courtesy of Maria Fobian 8/10/12 }

xoxoxo

2 responses to “Acts of Kindness

  1. Pingback: It Just Feels Good | Stuff Happens

  2. Pingback: It Just Feels Good - Stuff Etc.

Leave a Reply

